Roussillon

Roussillon

Sol Payré - Ivresse des Sens 2019 – Sku: 7386 – 151
Sol Payré
2019
Côtes-du-Roussillon PDO
€11.00
Le Clos des Fées - Les Sorcières 2021 – Sku: 736921 – 59
Le Clos des Fées
2021
Côtes-du-Roussillon PDO
€14.50
COUP DE COEUR
Sol Payré - Imo Pectore 2019 – Sku: 7384 – 92
Sol Payré
2019
Côtes-du-Roussillon Les Aspres PDO
€15.00
Bio
Le Roc des Anges - Segna de Cor 2019 – Sku: 7370 – 55
Le Roc des Anges
2019
Côtes-du-Roussillon PDO
€15.60
Bio
La Nouvelle Don(n)e - Nouvelle Vague Blanc 2021 – Sku: 741421 – 44
The New Don(n)e
2021
French wine
€16.00
Bio
La Nouvelle Don(n)e - Nouvelle Vague Rouge 2021 – Sku: 741021 – 58
The New Don(n)e
2021
French wine
€16.00
La Rectorie - Collioure Côté Mer 2020 – Sku: 744320 – 10
The Rectory
2020
Collioure PDO
€16.90
Clos des fées - De battre mon coeur s'est arrêté 2020 – Sku: 736320 – 21
Le Clos des Fées
2020
Côtes-du-Roussillon Villages AOP
€18.00
La Rectorie - Banyuls Cuvée Thérèse Reig Rimage Mise Précoce 2020 – Sku: 748320 – 24
The Rectory
2020
Banyuls PDO
€19.90
91/100 RVF
Bio
Olivier Pithon - Laïs 2019 Rouge – Sku: 753419 – 100
Olivier Pithon
2019
Côtes-du-Roussillon PDO
€20.00
COUP DE COEUR
94/100 RVF
Bio
Gauby - La Jasse Blanc 2020 – Sku: 743720 – 2
Gauby
2020
PGI Côtes Catalanes
€21.90
COUP DE COEUR
Bio
Le Roc des Anges - Les Vignes Métissées 2020 – Sku: 7372 – 85
Le Roc des Anges
2020
PGI Côtes Catalanes
€22.50
Page

The Roussillon vineyards: exceptional red and sweet wines

It is a vineyard in "amphitheatre" in which a most exciting wine show is played out. The Roussillon vineyards are spread out between the Mediterranean Sea and various mountain ranges: Canigou to the west, the Corbières to the north and the Albères to the south, on the border with Spain. In this setting of steep coves, mountainous foothills and sunny plains, the winegrowers are the actors of a whole new act where the rich and authentic wines are now in the spotlight. The reputation of the Roussillon vineyards is largely due to its red wines and, to a greater extent, to its exceptional natural sweet wines. Banyuls, Maury and other Rivesaltes are increasingly popular with wine lovers. All of this with a very attractive quality/price ratio.

General presentation of the Roussillon vineyard

The Roussillon vineyard covers a large part of the Pyrénées-Orientales department. It extends in the continuation of the Languedoc vineyard. Its 20,600 hectares of vines are spread along the Mediterranean coast, between the Etang de Leucate and the Spanish border, as well as on the Roussillon plain, the Agly valley to the north and on the south.e de l'Agly to the north of the Têt and Perpignan, the Aspres, the Corbières du Roussillon to the west and the foothills of the Albères to the south.

In this region, which is among the warmest in France, between the sea and the mountains, the vines benefit from a soil and climate that are conducive to exceptional terroirs. Many grape varieties are grown throughout the Pyrenees-Orientales. On the red side, Grenache noir is regularly grown alongside Carignan, lladoner pelut, mourvèdre and Syrah. On the white side, Grenache Blanc and Grenache Gris are used along with Macabeu, Malvoisie du Roussillon, Marsanne and Roussanne, Vermentino and Muscats à petits grains and Muscats d'Alexandrie.

The appellations of Roussillon

The Roussillon vineyards produce numerous AOCs, as well as IGPs, a label that replaces the former vins de pays. Several natural sweet wines are also typical of the region and deserve to be known.

The AOCs

The wines of Roussillon have 5 AOCs:

  • AOC Collioure: the famous port dear to the painters of the "fauvist" movement gives its name to this appellation. Grenache, mourvèdre and syrah on the red side and white and grey grenaches, macabeu, tourbat and vermentino on the white side, to name but a few, are grown on steep terraces overlooking the Mediterranean around the communes of Collioure, Banyuls, Cerbères and Port-Vendres. The AOC includes mainly red and rosé wines; some white wines, often unknown, are also concerned.
  • AOC Maury Sec: located to the northwest of Perpignan, this appellation is fairly recent, having been in existence since 2011. Here, the Grenache Noir grape variety dominates. Natural sweet wines are also produced in this area.
  • AOC Côtes-du-Roussillon: the wines of this AOC are produced around Perpignan and throughout the Roussillon plain. They are mainly red wines, which are the result of a blend of at least three grape varieties including Syrah, Mourvèdre, Cinsault, Grenache Noir and Carignan.
  • AOC Côtes-du-Roussillon Les Aspres: only red wines are produced here, which require at least 12 months of ageing.
  • AOC Côtes-du-Roussillon villages: between the Corbières massif and the Têt, in the Agly valley, this appellation concerns only blended red wines made from syrah, mourvèdre, carignan, grenache noir, cinsault, lledoner pelut and, in small proportion, macabeu.

The AOC Côtes-du-Roussillon villages is enriched by 4 geographical denominations, all concentrated north of the Têt:

  • Côtes-du-Roussillon villages Caramany
  • Côtes-du-Roussillon villages Lesquerde
  • Côtes-du-Roussillon villages Tautavel
  • Côtes-du-Roussillon villages Latour-de-France

The PGI (Protected Geographical Indication)

In 2009, the local wines became PGIs. The Roussillon currently has three of them:

  • IGP Côtes-Catalanes: this extends from Barcarès in the north of the Roussillon coastline, to Cerbère in the south, on the Spanish border.
  • PGI Côte-Vermeille: this covers four communes on the Côte Vermeille, south of Argelès-sur-Mer, namely Collioure, Port-Vendres, Banyuls-sur-Mer and Cerbère. The king grape variety is Grenache.
  • IGP Pyrénées-Orientales: it is produced throughout the department.

Natural sweet wines (VDN)

The Roussillon vineyard is distinguished from the Languedoc essentially by its important production of natural sweet wines. The Pyrenees-Orientales region is responsible for 80% of French production. These wines are the result of a mutage process developed in the 13th century. They are the result of traditional vinification methods based on sugar-rich grapes. During fermentation, neutral alcohol is added to stop the process.

The natural sweet wines of Roussillon are available in 5 appellations:

  • AOC Banyuls
  • AOC Banyuls grand cru
  • AOC Maury
  • AOC Muscat de Rivesaltes
  • AOC Rivesaltes

Appellations

Le vignoble

Clos du Rouge-Gorge

One of the great artisan-winemakers of the whole of France!

Gauby

Gérard Gauby, the master of Calce, has been pursuing his path to excellence for some thirty years now.

Out of Scope

The New Don(n)e

The Rectory

Since 1984, Marc and Thierry Parcé have been perpetuating the history of the family vineyard with the Domaine de la Rectorie, which was started by their great-grandmother Thérèse Reig. Based in Banyuls, between the sea and the mountains, the two brothers produce Banyuls and Collioure wines of very high quality, without doubt the best in the region, always marked by a striking balance

Le Clos des Fées

"Hervé Bizeul, vigneron et plume rebelle, n'a plus grand chose à prouver car son domaine fait partie de l'élite du Roussillon. Cela ne l'empêche pas de se remettre continuellement en question, de défricher de nouvelles pistes, d'innover, de sortir des sentiers battus et de créer de nouvelles cuvées.

Le Roc des Anges

One of the great rising stars of the French wine industry...

The Fagayra Lands

Olivier Pithon

"Avec d'entrée de jeu 3 étoiles, le domaine Olivier Pithon faisait il y a quelques années une entrée fracassante dans notre guide. Depuis, les vins continuent de nous convaincre d'année en année.

Rancy

Sol Payré

Five generations of winegrowers have succeeded one another at the estate, from Gustave Payré to Jean-Claude and Bertrand Sol. The Domaine is located in Elne, in the heart of the Aspres, in Roussillon, at the foot of the Pyrenees, the natural border with Spain. Reasoned protection, yield control and maturity are our watchwords! The particularity of the Domaine comes from the different terroirs with in the south, in the Aspres (Elne and Passa), about fifty hectares on clay-limestone soils, greedy wines with character and in the north, in the Agly valley (Maury), about ten hectares spread over Schist, Granite and Gneiss, here it's the minerality that speaks, the fineness of the tannins and the complexity of the aromas

Roussillon

Roussillon

Sol Payré - Ivresse des Sens 2019 – Réf : 7386 – 233
Sol Payré
2019
Côtes-du-Roussillon AOP
9,90 €
COUP DE COEUR
Sol Payré - Imo Pectore 2019 – Réf : 7384 – 171
Sol Payré
2019
Côtes-du-Roussillon Les Aspres AOP
14,90 €
Bio
Le Roc des Anges - Segna de Cor 2019 – Réf : 7370 – 83
Le Roc des Anges
2019
Côtes-du-Roussillon AOP
15,60 €
Bio
Olivier Pithon - Laïs 2018 Rouge – Réf : 7534 – 14
Olivier Pithon
2018
IGP Côtes catalanes
18,00 €
Bio
Gauby - Les Calcinaires Rouge 2019 – Réf : 7551
Gauby
2019
IGP Côtes catalanes
18,00 €
Clos des fées - De battre mon coeur s'est arrêté 2020 – Réf : 7363 – 14
Le Clos des Fées
2020
Côtes-du-Roussillon Villages AOP
18,90 €
Bio
Gauby - Calcinaires rouge 2020 – Réf : 7553 – 5
Gauby
2020
IGP Côtes catalanes
19,00 €
Clos des fées - De battre mon coeur s'est arrêté 2019 – Réf : 7367 – 12
Le Clos des Fées
2019
Côtes-du-Roussillon Villages AOP
19,90 €
95/100 RVF
Bio
Clos du Rouge Gorge - Le Rouge et Le Blanc 2020 – Réf : 7496 – 16
Hors Champ
2020
Vin de France
19,90 €
COUP DE COEUR
Bio
-4%
Le Roc des Anges - Llum 2020 – Réf : 7602 – 113
Le Roc des Anges
2020
IGP Côtes catalanes
Prix Spécial 21,50 € Prix normal 22,50 €
La Rectorie - Banyuls Cuvée Thérèse Reig Rimage Mise Précoce 2019 – Réf : 7483 – 5
La Rectorie
2019
Banyuls AOP
21,90 €
Bio
Le Roc des Anges - Chamane 2019 – Réf : 7571 – 10
Le Roc des Anges
2019
IGP Côtes catalanes
21,90 €
Page

Le vignoble du Roussillon : des vins rouges et des vins doux naturels d’exception

C’est un vignoble en « amphithéâtre » dans lequel se joue un spectacle viticole des plus passionnants. Le vignoble du Roussillon se déploie entre mer Méditerranée et différents massifs : Canigou à l’ouest, les Corbières au nord et les Albères au sud, à la frontière avec l’Espagne. Dans ce décor fait de criques escarpées, de contreforts montagneux et de plaines ensoleillées, les vignerons sont les acteurs d’un tout nouvel acte où les vins, riches et authentiques, sont désormais en pleine lumière. La réputation du vignoble du Roussillon tient pour beaucoup à ses vins rouges et, dans une plus large mesure, à ses vins doux naturels d’exception. En témoignent les Banyuls, Maury et autres Rivesaltes, toujours plus prisés des amateurs. Le tout selon un rapport qualité-prix des plus séduisants.

Présentation générale du vignoble du Roussillon

Le vignoble du Roussillon occupe une grande partie du département des Pyrénées-Orientales. Il s’étend dans le prolongement du vignoble du Languedoc. Ses quelque 20 600 hectares de vignes se répartissent sur le littoral méditerranéen, entre étang de Leucate et frontière espagnole, ainsi que sur la plaine du Roussillon, la vallée de l’Agly au nord de la Têt et de Perpignan, les Aspres, les Corbières du Roussillon à l’ouest et les contreforts des Albères au sud.

Dans cette région parmi les plus chaudes de France, entre mer et montagnes, les vignes bénéficient d’un sol et d’un climat propices aux terroirs d’exception. Les cépages sont nombreux à être cultivés d’un bout à l’autre des Pyrénées-Orientales. Du côté des rouges, le grenache noir intervient régulièrement aux côtés des carignan, lladoner pelut, mourvèdre et syrah. Du côté des blancs, ce sont les grenache blanc et grenache gris qui sont utilisés au même titre que le macabeu, le malvoisie du Roussillon, la marsanne et la roussanne, le vermentino et les muscats à petits grains et d’Alexandrie.

Les appellations du Roussillon

Le vignoble du Roussillon produit de nombreuses AOC, ainsi que des IGP, un label qui remplace les anciens vins de pays. Plusieurs vins doux naturels sont également typiques de la région et gagnent à être connus.

Les AOC

Les vins du Roussillon comptent 5 AOC :

  • AOC Collioure : le célèbre port cher aux peintres du mouvement « fauviste » donne son nom à cette appellation. Grenache, mourvèdre et syrah côté vins rouges et grenaches blanc et gris, macabeu, tourbat et vermentino côté vins blancs, pour ne citer qu’eux, sont cultivés sur des terrasses abruptes qui dominent la Méditerranée autour des communes de Collioure, Banyuls, Cerbères et Port-Vendres. L’AOC compte surtout des vins rouges et vins rosés ; quelques vins blancs, souvent méconnus, sont aussi concernés.
  • AOC Maury Sec : située au nord-ouest de Perpignan, cette appellation est assez récente puisqu’elle existe depuis 2011. Ici, c’est le grenache noir qui domine. Sur cette même aire sont produits des vins doux naturels.
  • AOC Côtes-du-Roussillon : les vins de cette AOC sont produits autour de Perpignan et dans toute la plaine du Roussillon. Il s’agit surtout de vins rouges, lesquels sont le fruit d’assemblage d’au moins trois cépages dont la syrah, le mourvèdre, le cinsault, le grenache noir et le carignan.
  • AOC Côtes-du-Roussillon Les Aspres : sont produits ici uniquement des vins rouges, lesquels nécessitent au moins 12 mois d’élevage.
  • AOC Côtes-du-Roussillon villages : entre le massif des Corbières et la Têt, dans la vallée de l’Agly, cette appellation concerne uniquement des vins rouges d’assemblage à base de syrah, mourvèdre, carignan, grenache noir, cinsault, lledoner pelut et, en petite proportion, macabeu.

L’AOC Côtes-du-Roussillon villages est enrichie de 4 dénominations géographiques, toutes concentrées au nord de la Têt :

  • Côtes-du-Roussillon villages Caramany
  • Côtes-du-Roussillon villages Lesquerde
  • Côtes-du-Roussillon villages Tautavel
  • Côtes-du-Roussillon villages Latour-de-France

Les IGP (Indication Géographique Protégée)

En 2009, les vins de pays sont devenus des IGP. Le Roussillon en compte actuellement trois :

  • IGP Côtes-Catalanes : elle s’étend du Barcarès au nord du littoral du Roussillon, à Cerbère au sud, à la frontière espagnole.
  • IGP Côte-Vermeille : elle concerne quatre communes de la Côte Vermeille, au sud d’Argelès-sur-Mer, à savoir Collioure, Port-Vendres, Banyuls-sur-Mer et Cerbère. Le cépage roi est le grenache.
  • IGP Pyrénées-Orientales : elle est produite sur l’ensemble du département.

Les vins doux naturels (VDN)

Le vignoble du Roussillon se distingue du Languedoc essentiellement par son importante production de vins doux naturels. Les Pyrénées-Orientales sont d’ailleurs à l’origine de 80 % de la production française. Ces vins sont le fruit d’un procédé de mutage mis au point au 13e siècle. Ils sont issus de méthodes de vinification traditionnelle à base de raisins riches en sucre. Au cours de la fermentation, pour que le processus soit stoppé, est ajouté de l’alcool neutre.

Les vins doux naturels du Roussillon se déclinent en 5 appellations :

  • AOC Banyuls
  • AOC Banyuls grand cru
  • AOC Maury
  • AOC Muscat de Rivesaltes
  • AOC Rivesaltes

Les appellations

Côtes-du-Roussillon AOP

Côtes-du-Roussillon Villages AOP

Banyuls AOP

Banyuls, un vin doux naturel emblématique du Roussillon

Rivesaltes AOP

IGP Côtes catalanes

IGP des Pyrénées-Orientales

Maury AOP

Maury, un vin doux naturel du Roussillon à (re)découvrir

Collioure AOP

Côtes-du-Roussillon Les Aspres AOP

Le vignoble

Clos du Rouge-Gorge

Un des grands artisan-vigneron de tout l'hexagone !

Gauby

Gérard Gauby, le maître de Calce, continue sa route vers l’excellence, et ce depuis désormais une trentaine d’années.

Hors Champ

La Nouvelle Don(n)e

La Rectorie

Marc et Thierry Parcé perpétuent depuis 1984 avec le domaine de la Rectorie l'histoire du vignoble familial amorcée par leur arrière grand-mère Thérèse Reig. Installés à Banyuls, entre mer et montagne, les deux frères y produisent des Banyuls et des Collioure de très grande qualité, sans doute les meilleurs de la région, toujours marqués par un équilibre saisissant.

Le Clos des Fées

Le Roc des Anges

Une des grandes étoiles montantes du vignoble français...

Les Terres de Fagayra

Olivier Pithon

Rancy

Sol Payré

Cinq générations de vignerons se sont succédées au domaine, de Gustave Payré à Jean-Claude et Bertrand Sol. Le Domaine est situé à Elne, au cœur des Aspres, en Roussillon, au pied de la chaine des Pyrénées, frontière naturelle avec l’Espagne. Protection raisonnée, contrôle des rendements et maturité sont nos mots d’ordre ! La particularité du Domaine provient des différents terroirs avec au sud, dans les Aspres (Elne et Passa), une cinquantaine d’hectares sur des sols argilo calcaire, des vins gourmands avec du caractère et au nord, dans la vallée de l’Agly (Maury), une dizaine d’hectare répartis sur des Schistes, Granit et Gneiss, ici c’est la minéralité qui parle, la finesse des tannins et la complexité des arômes.