+33(0)4 50 57 30 65 CONTACT US

0Item(s)

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

Charente

Set Descending Direction

8 Item(s)

Set Descending Direction

8 Item(s)

The charentais vineyards: wines to be discovered for the pleasure

The charentais vineyards is known worldwide for its brandy, cognac. Another local jewel, the pineau of Charentes, a liqueur wine protected by an AOC since 1945. Alongside these two values is now looming wine production which is becoming increasingly important. Charentais wines, which have a PGI, are the result of a long-term job led by passionate winemakers. And they gain little by leu their letters of nobility, making these wines of privileged partners of all the moments of sharing, with family or friends.

General presentation of the vineyards of Charente

The charentais vineyards covers two departments of new-Aquitaine: the Charente and Charente-Maritime. It extends north of the famous vineyards of Bordeaux, around cities like Cognac and La Rochelle.

Located north of the famous vineyards of Bordeaux, the vineyards of the Charentes sometimes attached. He is also attached at times to the imposing vineyards of the South-West. At times, it is inseparable from the vineyard of Poitou-Charentes.

In all cases, the charentais vineyards is known worldwide for its cognac, whose the region ' ' matches two Charentes. The white ugni grape dominates this AOC brandy production. To produce white, but also red and rosé wines, winemakers have, in the 1980s, found old varieties and invited other grape of Bordeaux, Burgundy and beaujolais, among others. Thirty years later, their work was recognized by the awarding of a PGI (protected geographical Indication), which replaces in 2009 the appellation "wine country."

The IGP

Charentais wines

These wines are produced on both the Charentes departments. The IGP wines Charente can be enriched with one of the following geographical names:

  • Ré Island (Charente-Maritime)
  • Island of Oléron (Charente-Maritime)
  • Saint-Sornin (Charente)

Charentais wines appeared in the 1980s, period where cognac is in crisis at the international and national levels. To diversify, winemakers operate then new varieties of grapes and apply to produce wines of"mouth" which, in a few decades, have earned their letters of nobility.

Not less than 26 varieties are allowed for IGP charentais wines, which allows a great diversity of wines. On the side of the reds, merlot, cabernet and cabernet sauvignon side by side gamay, pinot noir and tannat, among others. Whites are dominated by chardonnay, chenin white, colombard and semillon and sauvignon grapes.

Charentais wines are considered generally wines '' fun '' eaten at any time, always in the spirit of conviviality that characterizes the region.

Atlantic

The Atlantic country wines, now appointed IGP Atlantic, are partly produced on the Charentes departments. Other departments of the Atlantic are concerned: the Dordogne, Gironde and, to a lesser extent, the Lot-et-Garonne. Many grapes are used to produce wines in three colors. They are also available for the first time.

The AOC

Charente and Charente-Maritime count two famous AOC, that could not forget.

Cognac

This brandy is produced in a clear area around the town of Cognac. It covers a large part of the Charente and Charente-Maritime almost. Six different crus are focused around Cognac: Grande Champagne, small Champagne, Borderies, for wood, good wood and common Woods. This vast vineyard of 75 000 hectares mainly operates the white ugni, grape marginally joined by crazy blanche and colombard grapes.

The cognac brandies age at least two and a half years in oak before be assembled.

Pineau of Charentes

This liqueur wine, or mistelle, is produced on two Charentes, on an area similar to that of the cognac appellation. Pineau of Charentes is a bold mix of juice of grapes and cognac brandy. It is a wine of fortification; This process is to stop the fermentation of grape must in order to preserve all the aromas of the fruit.

Pineau of Charentes is white or pink. When her dress is dark, it can be said to be 'red '. It is most often eaten as an appetizer, especially when young.

04 50 57 30 65 NOUS CONTACTER

0Item(s)

Votre panier est vide.

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

Charente

Par ordre décroissant

9 article(s)

Par ordre décroissant

9 article(s)

Le vignoble charentais : des vins à découvrir pour le plaisir

Le vignoble charentais est connu mondialement pour son eau-de-vie, le cognac. Autre fleuron local, le pineau des Charentes, un vin de liqueur protégé par une AOC depuis 1945. Aux côtés de ces deux valeurs sûres se profile désormais une production viticole qui prend de plus en plus d’importance. Les vins charentais, lesquels bénéficient d’une IGP, sont le fruit d’un travail de longue haleine mené par des vignerons passionnés. Et ils acquièrent peu à leu leurs lettres de noblesse, faisant de ces vins des partenaires privilégiés de tous les moments de partage, en famille ou entre amis.

Présentation générale du vignoble de Charente

Le vignoble charentais couvre deux départements de Nouvelle-Aquitaine : la Charente-Maritime et la Charente. Il s’étend au nord du célèbre vignoble de Bordeaux, autour de villes comme Cognac et La Rochelle.

Situé au nord du célèbre vignoble de Bordeaux, le vignoble des Charentes lui est parfois rattaché. Il est également rattaché par moment à l’imposant vignoble du Sud-Ouest. Par moment, il est indissociable du vignoble du Poitou-Charentes.

Dans tous les cas, le vignoble charentais est connu mondialement pour son cognac, dont la région « délimitée » correspond aux deux Charentes. Le cépage ugni blanc domine largement pour la production de cette eau-de-vie AOC. Pour produire des vins blancs, mais aussi rouges et rosés, les vignerons ont, dans les années 80, retrouvé des cépages anciens et invité d’autres cépages du bordelais, du beaujolais et de Bourgogne, entre autres. Une trentaine d’années plus tard, leur travail a été distingué par l’attribution d’une IGP (Indication Géographique Protégée), laquelle remplace en 2009 l’appellation « vin de pays ».

Les IGP

Vins Charentais

Ces vins sont produits sur les deux départements des Charentes. L’IGP vins charentais peut être enrichie d’une des dénominations géographiques suivantes :

  • Ile de Ré (Charente-Maritime)
  • Ile d’Oléron (Charente-Maritime)
  • Saint-Sornin (Charente)

Les vins charentais sont apparus dans les années 80, période où le cognac est en crise au niveau international et national. Pour se diversifier, les vignerons exploitent alors de nouvelles variétés de cépages et s’appliquent à produire des vins « de bouche » qui, en quelques décennies, ont su gagner leurs lettres de noblesse.

Pas moins de 26 cépages sont autorisés pour l’IGP vins charentais, ce qui permet une grande diversité de crus. Du côté des rouges, merlot, cabernet et cabernet sauvignon côtoient gamay, pinot noir et tannat, entre autres. Les blancs sont quant à eux dominés par les cépages chardonnay, chenin blanc, colombard, sémillon et sauvignon.

Les vins charentais sont considérés généralement comme des vins « plaisir » que l’on déguste en toute occasion, toujours dans cet esprit de convivialité qui caractérise la région.

Atlantique

Les vins de pays de l’Atlantique, désormais nommés IGP Atlantique, sont en partie produits sur les départements des Charentes. D’autres départements de la façade atlantique sont concernés : la Dordogne, la Gironde et, dans une moindre mesure, le Lot-et-Garonne. De très nombreux cépages sont utilisés pour produire des vins dans les trois couleurs. Ils sont également disponibles en primeur.

Les AOC

Charente et Charente-Maritime comptent deux AOC célèbres, que l’on ne pouvait oublier.

Cognac

Cette eau-de-vie est produite dans une région clairement délimitée autour de la ville de Cognac. Elle couvre une grande partie de la Charente et la quasi-totalité de la Charente-Maritime. Six crus différents se concentrent autour de Cognac : Grande Champagne, Petite Champagne, Borderies, Fins Bois, Bons Bois et Bois ordinaires. Cet immense vignoble de 75 000 hectares exploite majoritairement l’ugni blanc, cépage rejoint marginalement par les cépages colombard et folle blanche.

Les eaux-de-vie de cognac vieillissent au moins deux ans et demi en fût de chêne avant d’être assemblées.

Pineau des Charentes

Ce vin de liqueur, ou mistelle, est produit sur les deux Charentes, sur une aire d’appellation similaire à celle du cognac. Le pineau des Charentes est un mélange audacieux de jus de raisin et d’eau-de-vie de cognac. C’est un vin de mutage ; ce processus consiste à stopper la fermentation du moût de raisin afin de préserver tous les arômes du fruit.

Le pineau des Charentes est blanc ou rosé. Quand sa robe est foncée, il peut être dit « rouge ». Il se déguste le plus souvent à l’apéritif, surtout quand il est jeune.