Savoie and Bugey

Savoie and Bugey

Philippe & Sylvain Ravier - Apremont 2021 – Sku: 376021 – 90
Philippe & Sylvain Ravier
2021
Apremont PDO
€8.50
André & Michel Quénard - Chignin Les Cristallins 2021 – Sku: 379721 – 18
André and Michel Quénard
2021
Savoy wine Chignin PDO
€8.50
André & Michel Quénard - Chignin Les Cristallins 2020 – Sku: 3797 – 20
André and Michel Quénard
2020
Savoy wine Chignin PDO
€8.50
André et Michel Quénard - Gamay Chignin 2019 – Sku: 3815 – 7
André and Michel Quénard
2019
Savoy PDO wine
€8.90
-10%
Chignin "Vieilles Vignes 1930" 2021 – Sku: 380521 – 57
André and Michel Quénard
2021
Savoy wine Chignin PDO
Special Price €8.90 Regular Price €9.90
André et Michel Quénard - Rosé sous le Roc 2020 – Sku: 3814 – 43
André and Michel Quénard
2020
Savoy PDO wine
€9.00
Bardet - Cerdon – Sku: 3920 – 79
Olivier Bardet
Bugey
€9.90
COUP DE COEUR
90/100 RVF
Dupasquier - Roussette de Savoie Altesse 2017 – Sku: 375917 – 16
Dupasquier
2017
Roussette-de-Savoie PDO
€11.00
Fabien Trosset -  Mondeuse Cru Arbin Terre d'Origine 2020 – Sku: 389220 – 66
Fabien Trosset
2020
Savoy PDO wine
€11.90
Jean Masson & Fils - Apremont Lisa 2019 – Sku: 3730 – 26
Jean Masson & Son
2019
Apremont PDO
Special Price €12.50 Regular Price €13.90
André et Michel Quénard - Crémant de Savoie – Sku: 3825 – 24
André and Michel Quénard
Crémant-de-Savoie PDO
€12.50
90/100 RVF
Fabien Trosset - Chignin-Bergeron Les Cerisiers 2020 – Sku: 382020 – 36
Fabien Trosset
2020
Savoy wine Chignin-Bergeron PDO
€12.90
Page

Savoie and Bugey, two vineyards to discover

These are two vineyards in eastern France that are gradually emerging from anonymity thanks to white wines that are constantly improving and surprising. If the vineyards of Savoie have been gaining in popularity for several years, in particular thanks to their finest Mondeuse and Chignon-Bergeron, those of Bugey are still relatively confidential. Geographically close, but also by some of their soils, these two vineyards are often brought under the same banner. We suggest you discover them.

General presentation of the Savoie-Bugey vineyards

Vineyards of Savoie

At the foot of the French Alps, the Savoie vineyard covers some 2,200 hectares spread over Savoie and Haute-Savoie, as well as Ain and Isère. It is made up of a multitude of islands, mainly concentrated in Savoie. The vineyard extends from Thonon-les-Bains on the shores of Lake Geneva to the Isère and the region south of Chambéry. The Savoie vineyard follows the Rhône, makes an incursion into the Ain, passes through the Lac du Bourget to reach the Isère and the Arc. It also makes a few detours into Haute-Savoie to blossom in the Arve Valley.

The vineyards of Savoie produce mainly white wines. However, there are also red Savoy wines, rosés and sparkling wines. Five white grape varieties make the identity of local wines: jacquère, roussette (also called altesse), chasselas, gringet and bergeron (or roussanne). In reds, the leading grape varieties are Mondeuse, Gamay, Pinot Noir and Persian. Mondeuse, malvoisie and molette are sought-after and appreciated Savoyard grape varieties.

Bugey vineyard

This vineyard is located in a small region of the Ain in the heart of a triangle formed by the cities of Lyon, Bourg-en-Bresse and Chambéry: the Bugey. Like the vineyards of Savoie, it is also quite scattered. Its 900 hectares are grouped in clusters around the three main areas of the region: Belley in the south, Cerdon in the north and Montagnieu in the centre.

Bugey is situated between the vineyards of the Jura and Savoie, a proximity that is reflected in some of its grape varieties: the Poulsard from the Jura and the Altesse (Roussette) from Savoie. Chardonnay, Gamay, Pinot Noir and Mondeuse are grown alongside them. Red and white wines make up most of the production, to which must be added sparkling wines, including Cerdon sparkling wine.

The appellations

The Savoie-Bugey vineyards have several appellations d'origine contrôlée to which a geographical name may be added.

Wines of Savoie

The Savoyard AOCs concern mainly white wines:

  • AOC Vin de Savoie: it represents more than 80% of the total production. It is produced from one end of the vineyard to the other, from Lake Geneva in the north to the banks of the Isère in the south.
  • AOC Roussette de Savoie: these AOC wines are produced from the region's flagship grape variety, altesse, also known as roussette. It is towards the Bourget that this AOC is mainly produced, in Monthoux and Marestel. Further north, around Frangy, we also find this AOC.
  • AOC Seyssel: this appellation is shared with the Bugey vineyard. It extends indeed on the two banks of the Rhône, on the communes of Seyssel and Corbonod. It uses the Altesse and Molette grape varieties.
  • AOC Crémant de Savoie: it is produced on all the vineyard (except Seyssel and Ayze).
  • The Savoie vineyard also has 20 geographical denominations which "enrich" the AOC Savoie:
  • In Haute-Savoie: Ayse, Crépy, Marignan, Ripaille, Marin, Frangy, Seyssel
  • In Savoie: Chautagne, Marestel, Jongieux, Monthoux, Monterminod, Saint-Jeoire-du-Prieuré, Apremont, les Abîmes, Chignin, Chignin Bergeron, Montmélian, Arbin, Cruet, Saint-Jean-de-la-Porte

Wines of Bugey

The Bugey vineyards are the source of 3 AOCs and 5 geographical denominations:

  • AOC Bugey, which includes the appellations AOC Bugey Cerdon (sparkling rosé), AOC Bugey Manicle (pinot noir and chardonnay) and AOC Bugey Montagnieu (mondeuse noire for red wine; altesse, chardonnay and mondeuse for sparkling wine). These wines are very diverse: sparkling, red, white and rosé.
  • AOC Roussette du Bugey, an appellation with 2 denominations, namely Roussette de Bugey Montagnieu AOC (altesse) and Roussette de Bugey Virieu-le-Grand AOC (altesse).
  • AOC Seyssel, an appellation shared with the Savoy vineyards.

Le vignoble

André and Michel Quénard

Guillaume Quénard is now the leader of the estate. He is beginning to make his mark with more straightforward, fine wines of superb balance.

Arretxea

Thérèse and Michel Riouspeyrous, who are now quietly handing over the estate to their sons Iban and Théo, can be proud of their success on their family estate. They have become the reference for Basque wines and perhaps even for the whole of the South West.

Belluard

The Domaine Belluard now covers some twenty hectares at an altitude of 450 metres and is cultivated on very steep slopes. The soils are very varied and bring all the richness to these biodynamically cultivated wines (since 2001), red ferruginous clays alongside limestone scree, glacial sediments...

Domaine des Ardoisières

Brice Omont and his rare and great Coteaux de Cevins...

Dupasquier

"Located near Jongieux in the picturesque village of Aimavigne, at the foot of the vertiginous Marestel hillside, the Dupasquier family has been cultivating their vines for five generations with good reason (grassing down, no synthetic products). (...) The Roussette Marestel is the great wine of the estate, capable of improving over 30 to 40 years of ageing in good vintages with an astonishing diversity of flavours, without losing its freshness. With a little rebalancing, the estate could quickly climb up our hierarchy..."

Eric Bordelet

Eric Bordelet is the reference when you want to taste an exceptional cider or perry.

Fabien Trosset

Fabien Trosset and his wife settled in 2011 on the magnificent terroirs of Arbin. Coming from the already well known Trosset family (Fabien is a cousin of Joseph and Louis of the famous domaine Les Fils de Charles Trosset), Fabien is rebuilding a 16 hectare vineyard, 13 of which are Mondeuse. The work in the vineyard is very meticulous and the least interventionist possible.

Giachino

The vineyard of the brothers David and Frédéric, the Giac brothers as they are known, is made up of about ten hectares overlooking the Isère valley.

Gilles Berlioz

The Chignin Bergeron artist...

Jean Masson & Son

The Sons of Charles Trosset

The Mondeuse de garde par excellence...

Olivier Bardet

Philippe & Sylvain Ravier

Pierre-Jean Villa

Raphaël Bartucci

A must of the appellation with a natural Cerdon, greedy and complex at the same time. Ideal with a red fruit crumble.

Renardat Fache

A great reference in Cerdon du Bugey.

Savoie et Bugey

Savoie et Bugey

CARTE CADEAU - CHEQUE CADEAU – Réf : 50125
À partir de 10,00 €
Etui Sérigraphié 1 bouteille – Réf : 15822 – 65
1,90 €
Ethylotest à usage unique – Réf : 15626 – 18
1,95 €
Nouveau
Bouchon Vinolok – Réf : 15624 – 20
2,50 €
1 Drop Stop – Réf : 15615 – 22
Drop Stop
2,50 €
Etui pour bt Champagne/ Mag Vin – Réf : 15823 – 10
3,50 €
Bière La Débauche - Double Belge Bouteille 33cl – Réf : 13975 – 19
Brasserie La Débauche
Bière
3,90 €
Bière La Débauche - Fur & Bones Bouteille 33 cl – Réf : 13944 – 13
Brasserie La Débauche
Bière
3,90 €
Bière Mont Salève - Locale Pale Ale - 5° - Bouteille 33 cl – Réf : 13995 – 5
La Brasserie du Mont Salève
Bière
3,90 €
COUP DE COEUR
Bière Mont Salève - IPA - 6.7° - Bouteille 33 cl – Réf : 13988 – 1
La Brasserie du Mont Salève
Bière
3,90 €
Bière Mont Salève - Mademoiselle Mistral FPA - 6° - Bouteille 33 cl – Réf : 13986 – 1
La Brasserie du Mont Salève
Bière
3,90 €
Bière Mont Salève - Blonde - 5.8° - Bouteille 33 cl – Réf : 13979 – 4
La Brasserie du Mont Salève
Bière
3,90 €
Page

Savoie et Bugey, deux vignobles à découvrir

Ce sont deux vignobles de l’est de la France qui sortent peu à peu de l’anonymat grâce à des vins blancs qui ne cessent de s’améliorer et de surprendre. Si le vignoble de Savoie gagne en popularité depuis plusieurs années, notamment grâce à ses plus belles Mondeuse et ses meilleurs Chignon-Bergeron, celui du Bugey est encore relativement confidentiel. Proches géographiquement, mais aussi par certains de leurs terroirs, ces deux vignobles sont souvent ramenés sous un même étendard. Nous vous proposons de les découvrir.

Présentation générale du vignoble de Savoie-Bugey

Vignoble de Savoie

Au pied des Alpes françaises, le vignoble de Savoie couvre quelque 2 200 hectares répartis sur la Savoie et la Haute-Savoie, ainsi que sur l’Ain et l’Isère. Il est constitué d’une multitude d’ilots, concentrés essentiellement en Savoie. Le vignoble s’étend ainsi de Thonon-les-Bains sur les rives du lac Léman, jusqu’à l’Isère et la région au sud de Chambéry. Le vignoble de Savoie suit le Rhône, fait une incursion dans l’Ain, passe par le lac du Bourget pour rejoindre l’Isère et l’Arc. Il fait aussi quelques détours en Haute-Savoie pour s’épanouir dans la vallée de l’Arve.

Le vignoble de Savoie produit essentiellement des vins blancs. Pour autant, on trouve aussi des vins rouges de Savoie, des rosés et du mousseux. Cinq cépages blancs font l’identité des vins locaux : jacquère, roussette (appelée aussi altesse), chasselas, gringet et bergeron (ou roussanne). En rouge, les cépages phares sont la mondeuse, le gamay, le pinot noir et le persan. Mondeuse, malvoisie et molette sont des cépages savoyards recherchés et appréciés.

Vignoble du Bugey

Ce vignoble s’étend dans une petite région de l’Ain située au cœur d’un triangle formée par les villes de Lyon, Bourg-en-Bresse et Chambéry : le Bugey. Comme le vignoble de Savoie, il est lui aussi assez éparpillé. Ses 900 hectares sont regroupés en ilots, autour des trois secteurs principaux de la région : Belley au sud, Cerdon au nord et Montagnieu au centre.

Le Bugey se situe entre le vignoble du Jura et celui de Savoie, une proximité que traduisent certains de ces cépages : le poulsard jurassien et l’altesse (roussette) savoyarde. A leurs côtés sont cultivés du chardonnay, du gamay, du pinot noir et de la mondeuse. Vins rouges et vins blancs constituent l’essentiel de la production, à laquelle il faut ajouter les vins effervescents, dont le pétillant de Cerdon.

Les appellations

Le vignoble de Savoie-Bugey compte plusieurs appellations d’origine contrôlée auxquelles peut être adjointe une dénomination géographique.

Vins de Savoie

Les AOC savoyardes concernent essentiellement des vins blancs :

  • AOC Vin de Savoie : elle représente plus de 80 % de la production totale. Elle est produite d’un bout à l’autre du vignoble, du lac Léman au nord aux rives de l’Isère au sud.
  • AOC Roussette de Savoie : ces vins AOC sont produits à base du cépage phare de la région, l’altesse, qu’on appelle aussi roussette. C’est vers le Bourget que cette AOC est principalement produite, à Monthoux et Marestel. Plus au nord, autour de Frangy, on trouve également cette AOC.
  • AOC Seyssel : cette appellation est partagée avec le vignoble du Bugey. Elle s’étend en effet sur les deux rives du Rhône, sur les communes de Seyssel et de Corbonod. Elle fait intervenir les cépages altesse et molette.
  • AOC Crémant de Savoie : elle est produite sur tout le vignoble (sauf Seyssel et Ayze).
  • Le vignoble de Savoie compte aussi 20 dénominations géographiques qui « enrichissent » l’AOC Savoie :
  • En Haute-Savoie : Ayse, Crépy, Marignan, Ripaille, Marin, Frangy, Seyssel
  • En Savoie : Chautagne, Marestel, Jongieux, Monthoux, Monterminod, Saint-Jeoire-du-Prieuré, Apremont, les Abîmes, Chignin, Chignin Bergeron, Montmélian, Arbin, Cruet, Saint-Jean-de-la-Porte

Vins du Bugey

Le vignoble du Bugey est à l’origine de 3 AOC assorties de 5 dénominations géographiques :

  • AOC Bugey, laquelle compte les appellations AOC Bugey Cerdon (mousseux rosé), AOC Bugey Manicle (pinot noir et chardonnay) et AOC Bugey Montagnieu (mondeuse noire pour le vin rouge ; altesse, chardonnay et mondeuse pour les pétillants). Ces vins sont d’une grande diversité : pétillants, mousseux, rouges, blancs et rosés.
  • AOC Roussette du Bugey, appellation qui compte 2 dénominations, à savoir Roussette de Bugey Montagnieu AOC (altesse) et Roussette de Bugey Virieu-le-Grand AOC (altesse).
  • AOC Seyssel, appellation partagée avec le vignoble de Savoie.

Le vignoble

André et Michel Quénard

Guillaume Quénard est désormais le chef de file du domaine. Il commence à bien imprimer sa marque avec des vins plus droits, fins et d'un superbe équilibre.

Belluard

Le Domaine Belluard s'étend aujourd'hui sur une vingtaine d'hectares en altitude (450 mètres) et cultivées en pente très raide. Les sols sont très variés et apportent toute la richesse à ces vins cultivés en biodynamie (depuis 2001), argiles rouges ferrugineeuses cotoient les éboulis calcaires, les sédiments glaciaires...

Domaine des Ardoisières

Brice Omont et ses rares et grands Coteaux de Cevins...

Dupasquier

"Installés près de Jongieux dans le pittoresque village d'Aimavigne, au pied du vertigineux coteau de Marestel, les Dupasquier se succèdent depuis cinq générations et cultivent avec raison leurs vignes (enherbement, absence de produits de synthèse). (...) La roussette Marestel est le grand vin du domaine, capable de se bonifier sur 30 à 40 années de garde dans les bons millésimes dans une étonnante diversité de saveurs, sans perdre sa fraîcheur. Avec un petit rééquilibrage, le domaine pourrait rapidement grimper dans notre hiérarchie..."

Fabien Trosset

Fabien Trosset et sa femme s’installent en 2011 sur les magnifiques terroirs d’Arbin. Issu de la déjà très reconnue famille Trosset, (Fabien est cousin de Joseph et Louis du célèbre domaine Les Fils de Charles Trosset), Fabien reconstitue un vignoble de 16 hectares dont 13 de Mondeuse. Le travail à la vigne se veut très méticuleux et le moins interventionniste possible.

Giachino

Le vignoble des frères David et Frédéric, les frères Giac comme on les surnomme, est constitué d'une dizaine d’hectares qui surplombe la vallée de l’Isère.

Gilles Berlioz

L'artiste du Chignin Bergeron...

Jean Masson & Fils

Les Fils de Charles Trosset

La Mondeuse de garde par excellence...

Olivier Bardet

Philippe & Sylvain Ravier

Raphaël Bartucci

Un incontournable de l'appellation avec un Cerdon naturel, gourmand et complexe à la fois. Idéal sur un crumble aux fruits rouges.

Renardat Fache

Une grande référence en Cerdon du Bugey.