Jurancon PDO

94/100 RVF
Bio
Camin Larredya  - Jurancon La Part Davant 2020 – Sku: 834320 – 24
Camin Larredya
2020
Jurancon PDO
€17.90
94/100 RVF
Bio
Camin Larredya  - Jurancon La Part Davant 2019 – Sku: 8343 – 26
Camin Larredya
2019
Jurancon PDO
€17.90
COUP DE COEUR
Bio
Camin Larredya - Jurancon Sec La Virada 2020 – Sku: 837220 – 47
Camin Larredya
2020
Jurancon PDO
€27.90
Bio
Camin Larredya - Jurancon Moelleux Au Capcéu 2020 – Sku: 837820 – 11
Camin Larredya
2020
Jurancon PDO
€28.90
COUP DE COEUR
Bio
Camin Larredya - Jurancon Sec La Virada 2019 – Sku: 8372 – 4
Camin Larredya
2019
Jurancon PDO
€29.90
98/100 RVF
Bio
Camin Larredya - Jurancon Sec Costa Blanca 2019 – Sku: 8323 – 35
Camin Larredya
2019
Jurancon PDO
€59.00
COUP DE COEUR
Bio
Camin Larredya - Jurancon Sec Magnum La Virada 2019 – Sku: 8349 – 1
Camin Larredya
2019
Jurancon PDO
€65.00
92/100 RVF
Didier Dagueneau - Jurançon Sec Les Jardins de Babylone 2015 – Sku: 8381 – 8
Didier Dagueneau
2015
Jurancon PDO
€69.00
COUP DE COEUR
Didier Dagueneau - Jurançon Les Jardins de Babylone 2016 – Sku: 8373 – 2
Didier Dagueneau
2016
Jurancon PDO
€120.00
98/100 RVF
Bio
Camin Larredya - Jurancon Sec Magnum Costa Blanca 2019 – Sku: 8331 – 3
Camin Larredya
2019
Jurancon PDO
€125.00
Didier Dagueneau - Magnum Jurançon Moelleux Les Jardins de Babylone 2008 – Sku: 8380 – 1
Didier Dagueneau
2008
Jurancon PDO
€320.00
Didier Dagueneau - Jurançon Sec Les Jardins de Babylone 2016 – Sku: 8379
Didier Dagueneau
2016
Jurancon PDO
€69.00
Page

Jurançon, a royal appellation of the South West

A drop of this precious nectar is said to have been applied to the lips of the future King Henry IV from his birth in 1553. In other words, Jurançon enjoys a more than royal aura. This appellation of the South-West of France unfolds in a grandiose setting that is worthy of its legend, the vines being cultivated on hillsides facing the majestic Pyrenees. The Jurançon appellation is known for its sweet and syrupy wines, but it also produces some excellent dry white wines.

General presentation of Jurançon

The Jurançon appellation area is located in Béarn, in the Pyrénées-Atlantiques. It is around the communes of Jurançon and Monein, south of Pau, that the 1,000 hectares of the AOC are spread out. 25 communes are authorised to produce AOC "Jurançon" and "dry Jurançon" wines.

Five grape varieties are reserved for the production of Jurançon. First of all, gros manseng and petit manseng dominate; they are the ones that give Jurançon its particular identity. They represent at least 50% of the vineyard. Traditionally, gros manseng is preferred for dry jurançon and petit manseng, which produces more sugar, for sweet jurançon. It should be noted that only wines composed solely of Manseng can obtain the "vendange tardive" label.

Three other grape varieties are authorised. Courbu blanc, which is early, counterbalances the sweetness of Manseng. Rarer and less and less used, camaralet de Lasseube and lauzet add complexity and originality to the wines of the appellation.

Characteristics of Jurançon

Jurançon wines can be recognised by their honeyed aromas. They have a very attractive pale golden colour. To the honey are added notes of exotic fruits such as pineapple, passion fruit or citrus fruits. We also recognize touches of sweet spices, such as cloves and cinnamon, flowers such as broom, but also peach and candied fruit. The sweet Jurançon wines are delicious and delight the eye, the nose and the taste buds. They can be kept for 5 to 10 years, or even 15-25 years for the best of them.

The dry Jurançon white wines also have characteristic honey aromas. Behind a limpid colour with green reflections, aromas of exotic fruits, white fruits such as pears and apples, as well as notes of citrus, spices, flowers and wax develop. Fresh and lively, these wines can be kept for 5 to 10 years.

The Jurançon "vendange tardive" wines also reveal typical aromas of honey. They have candied and cooked fruits and spices.

How to taste a Jurançon

A Jurançon AOC wine is usually served at a temperature of 10-12°. It is excellent as an aperitif, with foie gras for example or smoked salmon. It also goes well with white meats in sauce and sweet and sour dishes. On the cheese side, a soft Jurançon goes perfectly with the sweetness of Ossau-Iraty. It also goes well with Roquefort, Fourme d'Ambert or Bleu d'Auvergne cheese. For dessert, Jurançon is perfect with crème brûlée, crème caramel and desserts with exotic fruits or small red fruits.

A dry white Jurançon AOC wine should be drunk at a temperature of 8-10°. It is renowned for its classy accompaniment to river fish and seafood. It can also be enjoyed as an aperitif, with cold meats for example, and it accompanies white meats. Goat's cheese also goes well with dry Jurançon.

Laissez-vous tenter... par les autres appellations !

Le vignoble

Bel Air Marquis d'Aligre

A very high level and ultra original Margaux... Bel Air Marquis d'Aligre is an extraordinary wine made from 68 vintages (in 2018) of Jean-Pierre Boyer's 13 hectare vineyard. A unique wine made with the 4 Bordeaux grape varieties and aged only in concrete vats. BAMA (as the aficionados of the domain say) is distinguished by its not very intense colour, closer to a pinot than a cabernet, a not very powerful palate but with a distinction, a perfume and a rare finesse, very suave in its tannins. It has taken the good habit of challenging the greatest Medocs because it is able to age gracefully for several decades like its much more expensive Medoc counterparts..

Camin Larredya

Jurançon with a dizzying complexity!

Didier Dagueneau

The quintessence of Sauvignon...

Jurancon AOP

COUP DE COEUR
Bio
Camin Larredya - Jurancon Sec La Virada 2020 – Réf : 837220 – 14
Camin Larredya
2020
Jurancon AOP
27,90 €
95/100 B+D
Bio
Camin Larredya - Jurancon Moelleux Au Capcéu 2019 – Réf : 837819 – 17
Camin Larredya
2019
Jurancon AOP
28,90 €
98/100 RVF
95/100 B+D
Bio
Camin Larredya - Jurancon Sec Costa Blanca 2019 – Réf : 8323 – 2
Camin Larredya
2019
Jurancon AOP
59,00 €
98/100 RVF
Bio
Camin Larredya - Jurancon Sec Magnum Costa Blanca 2019 – Réf : 8331 – 2
Camin Larredya
2019
Jurancon AOP
125,00 €
94/100 RVF
Bio
Camin Larredya  - Jurancon La Part Davant 2020 – Réf : 834320
Camin Larredya
2020
Jurancon AOP
17,90 €
Bio
Camin Larredya - Jurancon Moelleux Au Capcéu 2020 – Réf : 837820
Camin Larredya
2020
Jurancon AOP
28,90 €
COUP DE COEUR
94/100 B+D
Bio
Camin Larredya - Jurancon Sec Magnum La Virada 2019 – Réf : 8349
Camin Larredya
2019
Jurancon AOP
65,00 €
94/100 B+D
Didier Dagueneau - Jurançon Sec Les Jardins de Babylone 2016 – Réf : 8379
Didier Dagueneau
2016
Jurancon AOP
69,00 €
Didier Dagueneau - Jurançon Les Jardins de Babylone Demi Sec 2012 50cl – Réf : 837712
Didier Dagueneau
2012
Jurancon AOP
89,00 €
COUP DE COEUR
Didier Dagueneau - Jurançon Les Jardins de Babylone Liquoreux 2016 – Réf : 8373
Didier Dagueneau
2016
Jurancon AOP
129,00 €
Didier Dagueneau - Magnum Jurançon Moelleux Les Jardins de Babylone 2008 – Réf : 8380
Didier Dagueneau
2008
Jurancon AOP
320,00 €

Jurançon, une appellation royale du Sud-Ouest

Une goutte de ce précieux nectar aurait été appliquée sur les lèvres du futur roi Henri IV dès sa naissance en 1553. Autant dire que le jurançon bénéficie d’une aura plus que royale. Cette appellation du Sud-Ouest de la France se déploie par ailleurs dans un décor grandiose à la hauteur de sa légende, les vignes étant cultivées en coteaux face à la majestueuse chaîne des Pyrénées. L’appellation Jurançon, si elle est connue pour ses vins moelleux et liquoreux, offre aussi des vins blancs secs de haut vol.

Présentation générale du jurançon

L’aire d’appellation du jurançon se situe en Béarn, dans les Pyrénées-Atlantiques. C’est autour des communes de Jurançon et de Monein, au sud de Pau, que se déploient les quelque 1 000 hectares de l’AOC. 25 communes sont autorisées à produire des vins « jurançon » AOC et « jurançon sec » AOC.

Cinq cépages sont réservés à la production de jurançon. En premier lieu, ce sont le gros manseng et le petit manseng qui dominent ; ce sont eux qui donnent son identité particulière au jurançon. Ils représentent au moins 50 % de l’encépagement. Traditionnellement, le gros manseng est privilégié pour les jurançons secs et le petit manseng, qui produit plus de sucre, pour les jurançon moelleux. A savoir que seuls les vins composés uniquement de manseng peuvent obtenir la mention « vendange tardive ».

Trois autres cépages sont autorisés. Le courbu blanc, précoce, permet de contrebalancer la douceur du manseng. Plus rares et de moins en moins utilisés, le camaralet de Lasseube et le lauzet permettent d’ajouter de la complexité et de l’originalité aux vins de l’appellation.

Caractéristiques du jurançon

Les vins d’appellation Jurançon se reconnaissent à leurs aromes miellés. Ils présentent une robe jaune or pâle des plus séduisantes. Au miel s’ajoutent des notes de fruits exotiques comme l’ananas, le fruit de la passion ou les agrumes. On leur reconnait encore des touches d’épices douces, comme le girofle et la cannelle, de fleurs comme le genêt, mais aussi de pêche et de fruits confits. Gourmands, les jurançons moelleux charment tant l’œil que le nez et les papilles. Ils peuvent se conserver 5 à 10 ans, voire 15-25 ans pour les meilleurs d’entre eux.

Les vins blancs d’appellation Jurançon sec offrent aussi ces arômes de miel caractéristiques. Derrière une robe limpide aux reflets verts se développent des arômes de fruits exotiques, de fruits à chair blanche comme la poire et la pomme, ainsi que des notes d’agrumes, d’épices, de fleurs et de cire. Frais et nerveux, ces vins se conservent 5 à 10 ans.

Les jurançon « vendange tardive » dévoilent eux aussi des arômes typiques de miel. Ils se portent sur les fruits confits et cuits et les épices.

Comment déguster un jurançon

Un vin jurançon AOC se sert habituellement à une température de 10-12°. Il est excellent à l’apéritif, avec un foie gras par exemple ou du saumon fumé. Il accompagne également les viandes blanches en sauce et les plats sucrés-salés. Côté fromage, un jurançon moelleux s’associe parfaitement à la douceur de l’ossau-iraty. Il se pose aussi sur un roquefort, une fourme d’Ambert ou un bleu d’Auvergne. Côté dessert, le jurançon sera parfait avec une crème brûlée, une crème caramel et des entremets aux fruits exotiques ou aux petits fruits rouges.

Un vin blanc jurançon sec AOC se déguste quant à lui à une température de 8-10°. Il est réputé pour escorter avec classe les poissons de rivière et les fruits de mer. Il se déguste aussi à l’apéritif, avec de la charcuterie par exemple, et il accompagne les viandes blanches. Les fromages de chèvre s’associent aussi au jurançon sec.

Laissez-vous tenter... par les autres appellations !

Le vignoble

Arretxea

Thérèse et Michel Riouspeyrous, qui transmettent désormais tranquillement le domaine à leurs fils Iban et Théo, peuvent être fiers de leur réussite sur leur domaine familial, ils sont devenus la référence des vins basques et peut-être même de tout le sud ouest...

Camin Larredya

Le Jurançon à la complexité étourdissante !

Didier Dagueneau

La quintessence du Sauvignon...

Eric Bordelet

Eric Bordelet est la référence incontournable quand on souhaite déguster un cidre ou un poiré d’exception.

Pierre-Jean Villa