+33(0)4 50 57 30 65 CONTACT US

0Item(s)

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.
  • Ridge Vineyard Geyserville Ridge Vineyard Geyserville

Geyserville 2016 - Ridge Vineyards - - United States

Availability:Contact us by e-mail

Epuisé. Souhaits de réservation par mail.

€55.00
    • Reward Points Purchasing this item you will earn 110 Points
    • Applies only to registered customers, may vary when logged in.
Cuvee informations :
Color : Red
Cuvee's name : Geyserville
Vintage : 2016
Producer : Ridge Vineyards
Appellation : - United States
Grape varieties : 78% Zinfandel, 16% Carignan, 4% Petite Sirah, 1% Mataro, 1% Alicante Bouchet
Capacity : 75 cl bottle
Viticulture Biologique

Details

Geyserville impresses by its velvety, her satiny appearance and texture. One of the best Zinfandel of California!

The field:

The history of the Ridge vineyard dates back to 1885 when Osea Perrone, in-office doctor, bought 70 acres near the Summit of Monte Bello Ridge in the Santa Cruz mountains at 850 metres and planted vines on terraces. In 1940, the vineyard, then abandoned, was bought by William Short, a theologian who planted several parcels of Cabernet Sauvignon. It is however that in 1959 as the first vintage of Monte Bello Cabernet Sauvignon was produced under the supervision of Dave Bennion and his three Associates, all researchers at Stanford University. In 1967, Ridge Vineyards became a company private with a production of 3000 boxes a year. In 1989, Paul Draper, a degree in philosophy from Stanford University, joined the company on his return from the Chile where he was directing the establishment of a vineyard. Paul Draper is not a winemaker and has a very pragmatic approach that compliments well the philosophy of the field based on the notion of know-how acquired over the years. The philosophy of Paul Draper is simple, find the grapes with the greatest aromatic intensity and extract the flavors of the most natural way possible. He managed to drive the Ridge area to the pinnacle of California viticulture and for this promotion man in the year 2000 by the Decanter. All the wines fermented with natural yeasts, the reds in vats of small sizes to increase intensity extractions and the Chardonnay, not destemmed, in oak casks naturally dried french (65%) and American (35%). The vinification of the Zinfandel is made with the hat immersed while other varietals vinification is done by slowly pumping the juice of grapes over the CAP at regular intervals. Thirty plots that make up the Monte Bello vineyard are fermented separately and raised to 85%in American oak barrels and 15%in french oak barrels. Assembly is done after the malolactic fermentations and is based on the blind of the different vintages tasting. All important decisions (harvest, pressing, sous-tirages, traffic jams) are based on sensory analysis, laboratory tests used to confirm the sensory decisions. The best vintages of Cabernet Sauvignon are selected for the flagship wine of the area, the Ridge Monte Bello, others are assembled to the Ridge Santa Cruz.

Its variety: the Zinfandel

He reigned for a long time a mystery about the origin of Zinfandel. Is that recently we could prove that its DNA structure is exactly the same as the Primitivo grape native Italian Puglia. It would be also related with the Croatian Plavac Mali.
However, is not yet the path followed by this orphan variety to arrive in his adopted country, California, where he became iconic and privileged of many winemakers grape. At its introduction in California around 1850 Zinfandel was assembled with the Mission, a very productive variety and of questionable quality, to bring the structure and color. Gone unnoticed early in his career, his popularity rises as winemakers realise its quality as an enhancer element in an Assembly. You begin to appreciate the wines exclusively of Zinfandel, it is assigned a certain temperament: a velvety in the mouth, fruity, rich and honest with spicy notes of black pepper. Chameleon, he is able to assume different forms: small wine of mass consumption powerful and silky wines found in the best producers, through roses light and fruity, known as 'White' or 'Blush' Zinfandel.
Sensitive to the soil and climate, this grape is not easy to cultivate. An uneven phenolic ripeness of berries, a susceptibility to diseases and frost, and more if the grapes are overripe they may lack acidity. Many producers consider Zinfandel as a challenge, they often won with success.

Additional Information

Product reference 12052
Type of products Wines
Vintage 2016
Country United States
Region Foreign
Appellation - United States
Cuvee's name Geyserville
Title supplement No
Speciality No
Stock information Epuisé. Souhaits de réservation par mail.
Producer Ridge Vineyards
Capacity 75 cl bottle
Sweetness index No
Main style Fruity - Floral
Alcohol Percent No
Grape varieties 78% Zinfandel, 16% Carignan, 4% Petite Sirah, 1% Mataro, 1% Alicante Bouchet
Main grape variety Zinfandel
Production limitée No
Box type 6
Box type Cardboard
Organic wines Organic
Color Red
Consumption recommendation 2020 - 2031

04 50 57 30 65 NOUS CONTACTER

0Item(s)

Votre panier est vide.

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.
  • Ridge Vineyard Geyserville Ridge Vineyard Geyserville

Geyserville 2016 - Ridge Vineyards - - ETATS-UNIS -

Disponibilité :En stock

Plus que 9 en stock

Prix normal : 55,00 €

Special Price 43,50 €

    • Points de récompense En achetant cet article, vous gagnerez 87 Points
    • Fonctionne uniquement pour les clients enregistrés.
Informations de la cuvée :
Couleur : Rouge
Nom de la cuvée : Geyserville
Millésime : 2016
Producteur : Ridge Vineyards
Appellation : - ETATS-UNIS -
Cépages : 78% Zinfandel, 16% Carignan, 4% Petite Sirah, 1% Mataro, 1% Alicante Bouchet
Contenance : Bouteille 75 cl
Viticulture Biologique

Détails

Geyserville impressionne par son velouté, son aspect satiné et sa texture. L'un des meilleurs Zinfandel de Californie !

Le domaine:

L'histoire du vignoble de Ridge remonte à 1885 quand Osea Perrone, médecin en exercice, acheta 70 hectares près du sommet de Monte Bello Ridge dans les montagnes de Santa Cruz à 850 mètres d'altitude et y planta des vignes en terrasses. En 1940, le vignoble, alors à l'abandon, fut racheté par William Short, un théologien qui planta plusieurs parcelles de Cabernet Sauvignon. Ce n'est cependant qu'en 1959 que le premier millésime de Monte Bello Cabernet Sauvignon fut produit sous le contrôle de Dave Bennion et de ses trois associés, tous chercheurs à l'Université de Standford. En 1967, Ridge Vineyards devint une compagnie privée avec une production de 3000 caisses par an. En 1989, Paul Draper, licencié en Philosophie de l'Université de Standford, rejoint la Compagnie à son retour du Chili où il était parti diriger l'établissement d'un domaine viticole. Paul Draper n'est pas un oenologue et a une approche très pragmatique qui complimente fort bien la philosophie du domaine basée sur la notion de savoir-faire acquis au fil des années. La philosophie de Paul Draper est simple, trouver les raisins avec la plus grande intensité aromatique et extraire ces arômes de la manière la plus naturelle possible. Il réussit ainsi à conduire le domaine Ridge au pinacle de la viticulture californienne et fut pour cela promu Homme de l'Année 2000 par le Decanter. Tous les vins du domaine ont fermenté avec des levures naturelles, les rouges en cuves de petites tailles pour accroître l'intensité des extractions et les Chardonnay, non égrappés, en fûts de chêne français (65%) et américain (35%) séchés naturellement. La vinification des Zinfandel est effectuée avec le chapeau immergé alors que la vinification des autres cépages s'effectue en pompant doucement le jus du raisin par-dessus le chapeau à intervalles réguliers. Les trente parcelles qui constituent le vignoble de Monte Bello sont fermentées séparément et élevées pour 85% en fûts de chêne américain et pour 15 % en fûts de chêne français. L'assemblage se fait après les fermentations malolactiques et est basé sur la dégustation à l'aveugle des différentes cuvées. Toutes les décisions importantes (vendanges, pressurages, sous-tirages, embouteillages) sont basées sur des analyses sensorielles, les analyses de laboratoire ne servant qu'à confirmer les décisions sensorielles. Les meilleures cuvées de Cabernet Sauvignon sont sélectionnées pour le vin phare du domaine, le Ridge Monte Bello, les autres sont assemblées pour le Ridge Santa Cruz.

Son cépage: Le Zinfandel

Il régnait depuis longtemps un mystère sur l'origine du Zinfandel. Ce n'est que récemment qu'on a pu prouver que sa structure ADN est exactement identique au Primitivo, cépage autochtone Italien des Pouilles. Il serait aussi apparenté avec le Plavac Mali de Croatie.
Toutefois, on ne connaît pas encore le chemin suivi par cette variété orpheline pour arriver dans son pays d'adoption, la Californie, où il devient cépage emblématique et privilégié de nombreux vignerons. A son introduction en Californie vers 1850 le Zinfandel a été assemblé avec le Mission, une variété très productive et de qualité douteuse, pour apporter de la structure et de la couleur. Passé inaperçu au début de sa carrière, sa popularité monte au fur et à mesure que les vignerons se rendent compte de sa qualité en tant qu'élément améliorateur dans un assemblage. On commence aussi à apprécier les vins issus exclusivement du Zinfandel, on lui attribue un certain tempérament : un velouté en bouche, un côté fruité, riche et franc avec des notes épicées, notamment de poivre noir. Véritable caméléon, il est capable d'assumer différentes formes : du petit vin de consommation de masse aux grands vins puissants et soyeux que l'on retrouve chez les meilleurs producteurs, en passant par des rosés légers et fruités, appelés 'White' ou 'Blush' Zinfandel.
Sensible au sol et au climat, ce cépage n'est pas le plus facile à cultiver. Une maturité phénolique inégale des baies, une sensibilité aux maladies et au gel, et de plus si les raisins sont trop mûr ils peuvent manquer d'acidité. Beaucoup de producteurs considèrent le Zinfandel comme un défi, qu'ils remportent souvent avec succès d'ailleurs.

Informations complémentaires

Référence produit 12052
Type de produit Vin
Millésime 2016
Pays Etats-Unis
Région Etranger
Appellation - ETATS-UNIS -
Nom de la cuvée Geyserville
Complément titre Non
Spécialité Non
Information stock Non
Producteur Ridge Vineyards
Contenance Bouteille 75 cl
Indice de sucrosité Non
Style dominant Fruité - Floral
Degré d'alcool Non
Cépages 78% Zinfandel, 16% Carignan, 4% Petite Sirah, 1% Mataro, 1% Alicante Bouchet
Cépage dominant Zinfandel
Production limitée Non
Conditionnement d'origine 6
Type de conditionnement Carton
Viticulture certifiée Biologique
Couleur Rouge
Préconisation de consommation 2020 - 2031